Adventures along the journey to parenthood

A salute and an excerpt from “Operating Instructions: A Journal of My Son’s First Year”

I’ve been picking my way through re-reading Anne Lamott’s book “Operating Instructions”. I’m thoroughly enjoying it this evening, despite it’s bleak moments. Being a mom of any stripe is an incredibly noble and challenging job, but to be a single mom, to do it totally alone — I can hardly fathom it, yet so many women do it and do it superbly. I’m an awe of them and their strength. I salute all the moms doing it on their own!

An excerpt (warning: part of the author’s charm is her vulgarity):

Excerpt from the book "Operating Instructions"

Leave a Reply

