Adventures along the journey to parenthood

Cinematic overview of a child’s first year

This dad created a video that documents one second from each day of his son’s life for 365 days. Even though I’ve already experienced a human’s first year of life up close and personal, I found this video to be enlightening. I recommend it as educational material for parents-to-be; I wish I had seen something like this considering how clueless I was about what to expect with child development. My response to it is down below, but check it out for yourself first:

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/69986655″>A Second a Day from Birth.</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/sammyc”>Sam Christopher Cornwell</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

My take aways, in accordance with my own experience of someone’s first year:

1. Newborns cry A LOT. And aren’t too pretty.

2. This fussing-all-the-time phase seems to come to a rather abrupt conclusion and suddenly baby is happier and better adjusted to post-womb life. (around 2 – 4 months)

3. Despite the fact that this phase passes quickly in retrospect, in the moment it can become incredibly grating/overwhelming/sanity-crushing very quickly.

4. What a precious gift it is when they begin to smile. (around 2 – 3 months)

5. The gift gets even more precious when they begin to really acknowledge you, be entertained by you, and genuinely seem to feel nothing but joy when they look at you – what love! (around 6 -7 months)

6. I started crying when Indi began to walk: What a major milestone and departure from baby to the rest of your life (toddler, kid, teenager, adult) – such a launching point! About this point in the video, Indi suddenly looks so grown, so different from his baby self. It stirred up the first real nostalgia I have felt for Archer’s younger days — that phase of his life is gone and will never return. (around 10 – 14 months)

7. You hear it all the time but it’s true: They grow and change so fast! What a dramatic evolution in one year! Before I get too boo-hooey over it, I’ll remind myself that, lucky me, I get the chance to do it all again in just another 8 weeks or so. Maybe this time I’ll appreciate it a little more? Not that I didn’t appreciate it the first time, but how different will it feel to go through it the 2nd time?

A little more about the video and it’s creator can be found here.

Leave a Reply

